top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

First Attempts

I had been toying with the idea of learning to draw all week. I started searching for classes at the community college or maybe little hole-in-the-wall places that may teach drawing the way paintbars teach people to paint. Every result that turned up had the same thing in common: money. I just don't have the extra money to be going and paying for a class.

As I was sitting in work (I'm a receptionist at an assisted living home), Google-searching drawing classes, I cam across a little tutorial. After reading it over, I decided to just go for it! After scribbling for a few minutes, I decided I would just try and go through a tutorial and see just how bad I really was. I pulled up a tutorial for drawing a girl's face. I was almost finished with the drawing when a resident came to the desk. He looked at my paper and asked who I was drawing. I said, "No one in particular. I've just never drawn a person before and wanted to give it a try." He eyed me suspiciously for a few seconds, called me a liar in a very serious tone, and walked away. I wanted to argue, but was too surprised to think of a response.

I couldn't help but smile as I looked back down at my drawing. It may not be perfect, but it was good enough that someone, practically a stranger, assumed it wasn't my first time drawing. I mean, sure, I've scribbled little smiley faces and swirly letters, but I've never actually tried to draw something that looked even remotely realistic. Don't get me wrong, I know I have a long way to go, but this tiny accomplishment gave me the confidence I needed to keep going.

I went on to do a little doodle of a dragon's head and then Simba and Tinkerbell. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with how well I did. Even though all I'm doing is copying a tutorial, pretty much line for line, it's a step in the right direction. As a first attempt, I have to chalk this one up as a success!

If you'd like to try the tutorials, here are the links:

Girl Manga Face

Dragon Head (& Basic Beginner Tips)

Simba & Tinkerbell

If any of you try any of the tutorials, show us a picture of your drawing in the comments! I'd love to have someone joining me in this journey!

bottom of page